Welcome to the Homepage of K.V.S. Hari

Professor, Department of ECE, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Positions held

By on March 10, 2015


Registrar (May 2020 — present)

Faculty (1992– present), Chair (1 Jan 2015 — 10 Sep 2017) Department of ECE, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

Affiliated Professor, Department of Signal Processing,Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden (2010– 2016). Visiting Faculty (1995, 2002)

Visiting Associate Professor, Stanford University, Stanford, USA(1999-2000) Visiting Professor, Aalto Univeristy, Espoo, Finland (2002)

  • Chair of the Expert Group, constituted by the Department of Telecommunications (DOT), Government of India, to study the interference of satellite signals on WiMAX in the 2.5-2.7GHz. This group included members from the DOT, Indian Space Organization, WiMAX Forum, Samsung, Huawei, Intel, WCAI(US), KDDI(Japan) (2009-2011). The work was important in the context of spectrum auctions in India, 2009-2011.
  • Advisor to Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) on 2G/3G Spectrum Auctions (2011).
  • Chairman, Board of Studies, Karnataka State Open University‚Äôs M.Sc (Mobile Applications) programme (2011- ).
  • Member, Board of Studies, Amrita Viswa Vidyapeetham (2013 – )
  • Member, Governing Council, DOEACC, Ministry of Information Technology, Govt. of India (2001-2005)