1947 In the year of its birth as a full fledged department, 13 students joined the department for award of the Diploma of Indian Institute of Science (D.I.I.Sc). The programme was of a 3-year duration to students holding the B.Sc degree and of 1-year to students holding the B. E. degree. This Diploma has since been recognised as equivalent to the Master's degree. On the Institute receiving the status of a deemed University, D.I.I.Sc was designated as B.E. degree.
1954 The first Associateship, A.I.I.Sc was awarded. The first M.Sc.(Engg.) was awarded to N. N. Biswas
1956 A one year Master's programme called D.I.I.Sc(PG) for students holding the B.E. degree or D.I.I.Sc was introduced.
1959 A 3-year B.E. degree was awarded for students holding the B.Sc degree. The same year, the D.I.I.Sc programme was discontinued and D.I.I.Sc (PG) was converted to the M. E. degree.
1962 The first M.Sc (Engg) degree by research was awarded.
1963 The first Ph.D. degree was awarded to B S Sonde. The M. E. programme of 2-years duration programme for students holding the B.E. degree, in accordance with the national directives, was started.
1971 The Department established the Centre for Information Processing under the Ministry of Defence, Government of India, which continued till 1979.
1974 A Post-Graduate Diploma programme in Digital Communication and Data Processing was introduced and was extended to another field, Electronics Design Technology in 1976. This programme continued till 1978.
1975 The Department established the Centre for Electronics Design and Technology under Indo-Swiss co-operation, which became a full fledged Centre in later years.
1983 Following a national revamping of the M. E. programme and introduction of the 10+2+3 degree courses in the country: A 3 semester M. E. programme was introduced in place of the 2-year programme. A new 4-year Integrated M. E. programme for students with B.Sc degree was introduced. The intake to the B. E. programme was discontinued.
1989 M Tech course offered in Electronics Design and Technology (1 1/2 -Years programme after BE or M Sc) was designed to provide students with a strong foundation in electronic product design and technology.
1991 Electrical Sciences (ES) Divisional Review of ME (Int) Course; Strengthening and Restructuring Course work by introducing Divisional core subjects, specifying new Departmental Core subjects, addition of new electives and providing one full year for project work
1996 Divisional review of ME and ME (Int) courses in ES Division; Decision to phase out ME (Int)(ECE) course, strengthening of ME (ECE) course and launching new ME courses in emerging areas jointly with other Depts/Centres
2000 DRDO-IISc program on Mathematical Engineering started
2003 An entrepreneurship venture (ESQUBE) started by two of ECE faculty
2005 DRDO sponsored research on Sensor Networks started
2005 UGC Recognized Department as Center for Advanced Studies in Communications
2007 DST Supports modernization of ECE Laboratories