PhD Students (Past & Present)

Communication networking (or just “networking”) goes beyond the transfer of bits over a physical medium (the so-called “physical layer”) to cover all issues involved in interconnecting communicating entities over networks of bit carriers. In my research group we deal with problems of performance analysis, network design, and the analysis and design of controls in networks. Our approach is via mathematical models, typically involving random processes, queueing theory, optimisation and stochastic control. In the recent years we have studied many aspects of wireless networks (access networks (both cellular and WiFi), ad hoc mesh networks, and wireless sensor networks). Wireless sensor networks (WSNs) have thrown up several intriguing algorithm design problems such as distributed detection over wireless networks, and efficient algorithms for localisation and message forwarding. In the future we propose to work with other networked systems such as social networks, transportation networks, biological networks and energy networks.

Post-graduate research in networking trains a student to be a networking innovator. After the 3 to 4 years that a student spends in graduate research, his/her potential for professional growth in the industry or academics is substantially enhanced. After completion of the research degree, the student can expect to get an attractive placement in industrial R&D or academics.

Current and Former PhD Students

  • Dr. Lilly Kutty Jacob (Professor and Head, Electrical Engg., National Institute of Technology, Calicut, Kerala, India)
  • Dr. Joy Kuri (Professor & Chair, Department of Electronic Systems Engineering, IISc)
  • Dr. Rajeev Shorey (Principal Scientist, TCS Innovation Labs, Cincinnati, USA & Bangalore, India)
  • Dr. Santosh Paul Abraham (Member Technical Staff, Qualcomm, San Diego, California)
  • Dr. Manish Gupta (Member Research Staff, IBM Solutions Research Centre, Hauz Khas, New Delhi)
  • Dr. Arzad Alam Kherani,(Broadcom, Bangalore)
  • Dr. Aditya Karnik (General Electric, Jack Welch Research Centre, Bangalore)
  • Dr. Munish Goyal (IBM India Research Lab, Bangalore}
  • Dr. Venkatesh Ramaiyan (Assistant Professor, EE Department, IIT Madras)
  • Dr. Manoj Panda (Assistant Professor, Amrita University, Chennai)
  • Dr. K. Premkumar (Assistant Professor, IIITDM, Kancheepuram)
  • Dr. Chandramani K. Singh (Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science)
  • Dr. K. P. Naveen (Assistant Professor, IIT Tirupati)
  • Dr. Srinivasan Venkatramanan(Research Scientist, University of Virginia, Charlottesville)
  • Dr. Arpan Chattopadhyaya (Assistant Professor, IIT Delhi)
  • Dr. Abhijit Bhattacharya (Qualcomm India, Bangalore)
  • Dr. Avinash Mohan (Post Doctoral Scholar, Technion, Haifa, Israel)
  • Ms. Anitha Varghese(M.E, Indian Institute of Science)
  • Mr. Krishna Chaythanya (M.Sc (Engg), Indian Institute of Science)